clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Valencia vs Barcelona live blog, full time: Maxi Gomez double secures win

The champions lost at Mestalla on Saturday

Valencia v FC Barcelona - La Liga Santander Photo by Jeroen Meuwsen/Soccrates/Getty Images

FULL TIME! Valencia 2-0 Barcelona: All over at Mestalla and Valencia take all three points. The hosts were good value for their win, while Quique Setien tastes defeat for the first time as Barcelona boss.


GOAL RULED OUT! Valencia 2-0 Barcelona: Gabriel has the ball in the back of the net for Valencia but it’s been ruled out for a foul in the build-up by VAR.


GOAL! Valencia 2-0 Barcelona: Barca have been pushing for an equaliser but get caught out and Maxi Gomez grabs his second of the day. Setien looks to be heading to his first defeat as Barca boss....


GOAL! Valencia 1-0 Barcelona: Well you can’t say it hasn’t been coming. Maxi Gomez smashes a shot that hits Jordi Alba and flies in. Come on Barca!


SECOND HALF: Valencia 0-0 Barcelona: Here we go again! Can Barca turn it on in the second half?


HALF-TIME! Valencia 0-0 Barcelona: No goals at half-time but Valencia should be winning 3-0. The reason that they aren’t is called Marc-Andre ter Stegen. What a keeper.


PENALTY SAVE! Valencia 0-0 Barcelona: Gerard Pique concedes a penalty for a foul on Gaya, but it doesn’t really matter because Barcelona have Marc-Andre ter Stegen! He saves from Maxi Gomez.


KICK OFF! Valencia 0-0 Barcelona: Come on boys! Three points please!


LINEUPS


Welcome to Mestalla where Quique Setien will be hoping to make it three wins out of three as Barcelona boss against Valencia. Granada and Ibiza have been beaten so far but Valencia away represents a tougher challenge. Gerard Pique, Sergio Busquets and Lionel Messi are all back after being rested in midweek so....LET’S LIVE BLOG!

(Note: the comments will be open only when the team news come out, because our commenter people love commenting and sometimes there are too many comments in the comments section)


MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: 2019-20 La Liga, Matchday 21

Date/Time: Saturday, January 25th, 2020, 4pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 3pm GMT (UK), 10am EST, 7am PST (USA), 8:30pm IST (India)

Venue: Estadio de Mestalla, Valencia

Referee: Jesus Gil Manzano

TV Info/How to stream: beIN Sports Connect (USA & Canada), Canal+ (Nigeria), Movistar+ (Spain), others


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, be careful with the swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do it will be warned, and those who post links will be instantly banned. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend one another.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, no matter the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Barca Blaugranes Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Barca news from Barca Blaugranes