clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for Champions League 2nd leg against Lyon

New, comments

Ernesto Valverde has called up 20 players for Wednesday night’s game at Camp Nou

Real Madrid v FC Barcelona - Copa del Rey Semi Final: Second Leg Photo by Denis Doyle/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana welcome Olympique Lyonnais to the Greatest Stadium on Earth for the second leg of their Champions League Round of 16 tie, and Ernesto Valverde has called up the following 20 players for the match at Camp Nou:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 17. Jeison Murillo, 18. Jordi Alba, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 7. Philippe Coutinho, 8. Arthur, 20. Sergi Roberto, 22. Arturo Vidal, 26. Carles Aleñá

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 14. Malcom, 19. Kevin-Prince Boateng


The biggest doubt coming into this game was the health of Ousmane Dembélé, who suffered a minor hamstring injury against Valladolid but is still fit enough to be in the squad for this one. But two players will be cut from the final matchday squad before the game, so it’s still unclear whether or not the Frenchman will be in uniform. Three players are definitely out, though: Rafinha (knee) and Thomas Vermaelen (calf) miss the game due to injury, while Jean-Clair Todibo is out per the manager’s decision.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Umtiti, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Arthur; Messi, Suárez, Coutinho


The match kicks off at 9pm CET/WAT (Barcelona & Nigeria), 8pm GMT (UK), 4pm ET, 1pm PT (USA), 1.30am IST (India, Thursday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action with our live blog.

VISCA EL BARÇA!