clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

When is the 2019-20 Champions League draw and who could Barcelona face?

New, comments

The group stages are almost here

FBL-EUR-C1-DRAW Photo credit should read FABRICE COFFRINI/AFP/Getty Images

The new La Liga season is already underway and pretty soon it will be the turn of the Champions League to kick off for another year.

Barcelona have endured painful defeats in Europe’s top competition over the last two seasons but will once again be hoping they can lift the famous trophy for the sixth time.

The Spanish champions will be in Pot 1 for Thurday’s group-stage draw in Monaco that kicks off at 12 p.m. ET/5 p.m. BST/6 p.m. CET.

Also in Pot 1 are holders Liverpool, Europa League winners Chelsea, Manchester City, Juventus, Bayern Munich, Paris Saint-Germain and Zenit.

Here is a look at the other teams in contention. Remember teams from the same league can’t face each other and clubs from Russia and Ukraine are not allowed in the same group.

The first round of matches are due to be played on September 17-18, but the full fixture list will be confirmed after the drawn has been made.

Which teams would you like to see Barcelona face and who do you want to avoid? Let us know your thoughts, predictions and dream ties in the comments below!