clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FC Barcelona announce squad for Champions League match against Napoli

New, comments

Quique Setién has called up 22 players for Saturday’s big game

Real Valladolid v FC Barcelona - La Liga Santander Photo by David S. Bustamante/Soccrates/Getty Images

The next Barcelona match is upon us! The Blaugrana are back in action following a three-week hiatus for the biggest game of the season against Napoli in the second leg of their Champions League Round of 16 clash, and Quique Setién has called up the following 22 players for Saturday’s big one:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Neto, 26. Iñaki Peña

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 24. Junior Firpo, 33. Ronald Araujo, 44. Óscar Mingueza

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. Frenkie De Jong. 28. Riqui Puig, 42. Monchu, 46. Ludovit Reis, 47. Jandro Orellana

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 17. Antoine Griezmann, 31. Ansu Fati, 45. Konrad De La Fuente


The big news with this squad selection is the return of Antoine Griezmann, who is fully recovered from a hamstring injury and is available to play. There are six first team players missing: Sergio Busquets and Arturo Vidal are suspended, Ousmane Dembélé (hamstring) and Samuel Umtiti (knee) are injured, Martin Braithwaite is ineligible for the Champions League, and Arthur Melo doesn’t want to play for the club anymore. That means that a total of NINE Barça B players are part of the list, and all 22 names will be available to play thanks to the new substitution rules.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Semedo, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Rakitic, De Jong, Roberto; Messi, Suárez, Griezmann


The match kicks off on Saturday at 9pm CET (Barcelona), 8pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India, Sunday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

VISCA EL BARÇA!